Paleo Piccata

It’s so comforting to eat one of your old favorite meals after starting a new diet, especially when you aren’t actually cheating on your diet.  We did a really nice chicken piccata last night that tasted just like the Rachel Ray recipe we made many times before. Suddenly the Paleo diet doesn’t feel as restrictive or confining anymore.  Since it calls for a bit of white wine to deglaze the pan, I did sneak a glass to go with the meal.  Other than that, is was super paleo.  The secret miracle to making the dish delicious is almond flour.  What a genius invention, albeit an expensive one.  I bought the amount I needed in the bulk section of Whole Foods, since the prepackaged bag was about $12 and I had my doubts it would be remotely edible.  Glad I was wrong.  Frying the chicken in a bit of olive oil with the almond flour breading is crispy and delicious.  Believe it or not, I actually prefer it to regular flour.  Before gushing on about almond flour any longer, here is the recipe we used… I highly recommend it http://evolutioncatering.blogspot.com/2009/09/paleo-chicken-piccata.html

Image

4 thoughts on “Paleo Piccata

  1. just finished it —was fantastic!! Had ith with Brussel sprots, sweet potato fries I made from scratch, 1/2 avacado and paleo coleslaw…all with Waynes whacky seasoning on it except for the chicken

Leave a Reply

