Top Secret Paleo at Panera

In my neighborhood, Panera seems to be top choice for college students looking for free wifi and coffee refills or the mom’s club meet-up after the kids head to school.  I begrudgingly go when I can’t think of anywhere better to get small portions tagged with high prices. However, my attitude about Panera is changing with a new “hidden” menu that has some Paleo friendly dishes.  As a warning, the cashiers may look at you a little crazy when you order from this menu.  There is nothing listed on the menus or in-store.  It is new to most locations and the employees don’t all know about it yet.   If the cashier gives you the stink eye, just ask for a manager and they should be able to assist.  Here is a link so you can check it out… I stay away from the hummus, of course, but the salads are really tasty/ substantial, like the “Power Mediterranean Roasted Turkey Salad” with all-natural, antibiotic-free roasted turkey, baby spinach, romaine, tomatoes, red onions, kalamata olives, fresh squeezed lemon juice, and extra virgin olive oil.  I can’t wait to try one of the breakfast bowls such as the “Power Breakfast Egg Bowl with Steak” with two all-natural eggs, seared top sirloin, sliced avocado & tomatoes.  I’ll be watching for tables of cross-fit people to join the “regulars” once word gets out on the new eats.  Happy dining!

As a side note, my weight is hovering around 189lbs and my blood pressure is great.  Work has been busy and workouts are lacking right now, so I’m going to stop writing and do something more physically challenging.

UPDATE: 3/13/13 – I tried the “Power Breakfast Egg White Bowl with Roasted Turkey”.  We ordered two of them and listened to the confusion back in the kitchen on how to actually make them.  “What’s the order?” and “I think that’s something from that secret menu”.  When the pager went off and I picked up the order, no one from the kitchen even looked up.  Both bowls looked different and were really meager with the portion size.  Very disappointing.  Having a secret menu and also keeping it secret from the staff is not going to be a successful strategy.

Leave a Reply

