Cuckoo for Coco-Jack

This is one of the things you never knew you needed.  My particular story started in the Whole Foods produce area.  I saw a girl comparing two of those white coconuts, one in each hand, and I couldn’t help but ask what she was doing.  She nicely explained that they are young coconuts, full of coconut water.  They are pricey at $2.99, so she was trying to figure out which was heavier to get the best value.  Packaged coconut water is more expensive and there are always concerns with additives or BPA in the packaging. A fresh coconut seems like a great way to get coconut water directly from the source, right?  Well, after trying to hack one open with a cleaver, I can see how the packaged stuff has its place and its price.  Is fresh coconut water worth a trip to the emergency room?  Hmmmm, I pondered this but still continued to open coconuts the only way I knew how… brute force.  I must admit, there is something primal and fun about my method.  But, there was an increasingly worried look on Rene’s face every time I assured her that I knew what I was doing.  That encouraged me to scour YouTube for a better solution.  That, friends, is the day I found Coco-Jack.  I ordered one up for myself and also got one for my dad (makes a great gift!).  The Coco-Jack is simply amazing.  Why the heck didn’t I think of this?  It’s cool, works perfectly and has made opening young coconuts a super fun spectacle of wonderment.  The Coco-Jack is simple.  Basically, it is a mallet and a leverage device.  You hammer the circular part of the device into the top of the coconut and push down on the handle part.  The leverage pops the top of the coconut into a little round lid.  You can go Gilligan’s Island style and pop in a straw the top or, for you sophisticates, pour the coconut water into the wine glass of your choice.  I’ve been getting about 2 cups of water out of each coconut.  I saved the best part for last… They also came up with a little scooper tool that lets you get all the coconut meat out without smashing the shell open.  Again, genius idea!  I was pretty pumped about this, so I contacted Coco-Jack.  They were nice enough to provide a Coco-Jack discount code for our readers.

Use code “MePaleo” at check out and get a whopping 10% off of your purchase!

Here are some technique videos for your viewing pleasure.  This thing is great!  Cheers!

Getting Jacked

Getting Jacked

Leave a Reply

